The Inspired Room

When I was sixteen was one of those milestones I will never forget, it was when I finally had my own room.No more sharing with any of my  sisters! I had a large space to personalize to my own taste and each and every part of the experience was new and exciting to me. When you are starting from scratch but still want your new space to feel like home, how do you know where to begin?

Obviously I was running on zero budget because if my family was like most middle class Nairobi homes, there is no way you were making your parents spend their money for you to redecorate your whole room.Am sure my dad would have said,”Let’s all stop eating and paying for your fees because you need a walk in closet! You should even be grateful that you have your own room to begin with.Back in my days..” and that is the part I would zone out. Not unless your dad is Mike Sonko you’re out of luck.

Determined to make the best of what I had,I sourced out paints that were left from previous construction projects and started out by painting walls of my room red. Unfortunately the paint ran out after three walls and I had one unpainted wall. There was silver paint in the store (which I don’t know where it came from) and used it to paint the remaining wall.The project that took close to a week. The results…. the room ended up looking grotesque!!

First and foremost  I was no artist and calligraphy was never my strong suit but somehow I convinced myself that I could write on one red wall since the silver paint was a lot which resulted to terrible results. Not putting paper on the floor didn’t help either because  I stained the floors to point of no recovery. Worse of all this is the red I used on the walls. It was so terrible that my brother decided to name it butchery red (definition of butchery red is the kind of red that is only found in butchery walls. illustrations below)

First before I show you my work of art, let me show you what  I intended  my walls to look like:

2695f94592b906eff10bf631648727c9

but this how I ended up coming up with butchery red

IMG-20160720-WA0019
The work of art!
IMG-20160720-WA0021
butchery red

Though my first project was a fail, I learned to be more savvy about what was entailed to decorate a room with little. And realized what determination and passion I had for awesome style.An eye for appealing aesthetics is something that you may not posses right away, but through trial and error, you can discover the correct assortment of decorative objects that work in your home.So through out my decor and living section I will be showing you all the tricks I learnt over the period of time.

Has anyone else had a decor and living project that was a massive fail like mine or epic success? Lets talk about it.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Rozzet Irungu says:

    😂😂😂😂…that was such a fail…but I have grown up with you and I know you are a risk taker. It was either the butchery red or nothing. Such a great read(#proubbigsismoment)…brought back loads of great memories

    Like

  2. Nelly Ngugi says:

    That’s an interesting read. During the time i got to know and hang around you i learnt that you love creating new looks and ideas… Hmmm, Can’t wait for the next blog post… Triple Liking this post 🙂

    Like

  3. Terry says:

    I never had my own room when growing up, but now that I have my own house😀, I will be following this for those decor tips!! Good write up Fae👍👍👍

    Like

  4. Olivia says:

    Wow….such a wonderful read…you got all it takes darling..
    .go for it girl!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Josphine says:

    Such an interesting read. Talent unleashed…Looking forward for more articles 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Robert Mwaura says:

    Awesome read..always knew you could write….Butchery Red.. hahhaha.am amazed by your skill. All the best siz..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

